The not-so-terrible treadmill

One of the joys of working in advertising is the unpredictable schedule, and with it comes complications to my training schedule.  When I originally created my plan leading up to our marathon, I had accounted for one or two days of not having time to run, but apparently my work schedule didn’t get the memo.  Living in a new city, I’m not completely confident running outside by myself in the dark yet, and even though the sun is up until 8pm in Southern Cali, I find myself quickly running out of daylight.

Cue the treadmill, and the inevitable gasps of my fellow runners. When I tell people that some of my training has been on a treadmill there is this accompanying feeling of admitting a horrible secret. Hi, my name is Kendall, and I run on a treadmill sometimes.

Yes, it is better to train in the same conditions you will be running in, and yes, running a treadmill isn’t the same as pounding the pavement, but I promise you runners, it’s not the end of the world.  When the outside run just isn’t going to happen or you really just want to hide from the weather or it’s pitch black out, a treadmill run is better than no run.

A few tips that I’ve noticed along the way:

  • Crank up the elevation to at least a 1 or 2 to account for the fact that you’re on a machine
  • Try one of the ‘random’ runs to make sure your accounting for inconsistencies in the level of your run
  • For people who sweat (alot) like I do, just FYI you will got hot faster, since there’s no wind in your face
  • Do your best to avoid obsessively checking the trackers on the treadmill, I promise watching those little numbers change is not making you run any faster

Any other treadmill trainers out there? As always, keep on (treadmill) running runners.

-Kendall

Leave a Reply

