Bike Path Etiquette

As part of my running path exploration, I’ve found myself spending a lot of time on a trail that leads along a canal in LA..  It’s everything you could hope for in a run/bike path: it has dividing lines, scenery, pretty flowers along the trail, multiple entrances, and of course the ending at the beach.  However, I’ve noticed that my fellow canal path goers aren’t following what I consider to be the basic etiquette for any sort of shared bike/path/walkway.  A few incidents on yesterday’s run have led me to compile the below list of path etiquette rules to keep in mind.

Here are my fundamental etiquette rules for shared roadway:

  1. Never run/bike/walk in the middle of the road – allow space for others to pass you
  2. Try not to run/bike/walk haphazardly all over the path (thereby also not allowing others to pass you)
  3. Dogs should be on leashes – I don’t care how adorable your pet is, I don’t know them.
  4. Be mindful of your baby stroller/bike trailer/wagon – they have a tendency to run into unsuspecting victims
  5. Look both ways before entering/leaving the path – you never know who’s trying to pick up some speed
  6. I’m sorry bikers, but you aren’t the kings and queens of the space, try not to be divas about it (full update to come on this later)
  7. Large groups should try their best to separate into smaller packs – it’s very hard to move out of the way for a five person across line
  8. And of course, just be courteous to your fellow path-goers!

While this is definitely not an exhaustive list, I think it would do wonders for the overall experience of paths. Let me know if you have any other rules of the road!  As always, run on runners.

-Kendall

Leave a comment