A Runners Game

Out on my run today I realized that I tend to stick to the same routes, and am probably missing a lot of cool terrain, and so the Blaze A New Trail game was born.  Here’s the basic idea: mix up my regular run by relying on chance.  How am I going to accomplish this? By flipping a coin.

The plan: bring a coin with me out on my next run, and at every intersection, flip the coin.  Heads turns right, tails goes left.  If you don’t catch it in your hand, keep running straight ahead.  While you’re blazing your new trail, keep your gps close at hand, so that after you’ve run half of what you had planned on, you can turn on your GPS and find your way home.  For example, if I’m headed out on a 5 mile run, I’m going to play the game for the first 2.5 miles, then use the Map My Run app to find my way back home.

While this may add some extra time to your run (I don’t know about you, but I’m not an expert coin flipper or navigator) it’ll be worth it in the end.  Finding new roads to run down, seeing new sights and of course the excellent new people watching are just a few of the reasons I can’t wait to give this a shot.  Who knows, maybe some of the new roads I find will become regulars.  Now, who’s with me?

-Kendall

Leave a Reply

