My First Minimalist Shoe

After completing the Marine Corps Marathon, I decided to suck it up and switch to a more minimalist running style.  (Be on the lookout for more posts about minimalist running!) Without a huge race to train for, it was a great time to make the move, and so my dad and I headed straight for the running store.

I’ve never been the best at picking out running shoes, it often comes straight down to the colors, but between my dad and the fabulous people at the PR Running Store, I settled on these babies.

At first I was skeptical, it only has a 4mm drop (which, in layman’s terms means it has barely any heel support, key for minimalist running) but have since fallen in love with these Sauconys.  They are part of the ProGrid Kinarva 2 family, and definitely fulfilled my requirement of flashy colors.  Since getting them, they’ve served me in my weekly routine, a 10K and a 5K and I have absolutely loved them.  For anyone looking to switch to a more minimalist style, these shoes are the extra push you need to get you up on your toes.  Plenty of toe cushioning combined with breathable material have made these my favorite running shoe yet (and hopefully will serve me for miles to come!).

Quick tip for new-to-minimalist running shoes: invest in some fabulously cushy socks! Despite the cushioning in the sole, your feet are probably happy with the pillowy material of your other shoes, so don’t make them switch too fast!

-Kendall

4 thoughts on “My First Minimalist Shoe

  1. I simply wanted to thank you once again for your amazing website you have designed here. Its full of useful tips for those who are truly interested in that subject, particularly this very post. You’re really all absolutely sweet and also thoughtful of others in addition to the fact that reading your blog posts is a great delight with me. And such a generous surprise! Jeff and I are going to have pleasure making use of your suggestions in what we should do in a few weeks. Our checklist is a mile long which means your tips might be put to great use.

Leave a Reply

